Belgium and the Netherlands in the process of monetary integration in Europe: economic consequences of joining the euro zone
Abstract
Belgium and the Netherlands have for many decades been the engines of integration processes in Europe, giving priority to the economic aspects of integration.
The countries played an important role in the formation of the European Union, which is the only integration association in the world that has managed to reach the stage of Economic and Monetary Union (EMU). Within the euro area, supranational institutions conduct a common monetary policy. However, there has been a lot of discussion about the effectiveness of the EMU since its founding — experts criticize the union for its inflexible monetary policy. This is especially acute in times of crisis, when the European economies one after another go into a phase of decline and cannot take effective measures due to the unification of monetary policy. Therefore, this topic is particularly relevant during the current coronacrisis.
The article considers the role of particular countries, namely Belgium and the Netherlands, in complex and multifaceted integration processes affecting the interests and functioning of most states of the continent. This determines the scientific novelty of the presented work.
The purpose of this article is to study the role of Belgium and the Netherlands in the process of monetary integration, as well as to analyze the economic consequences of these countries' accession to the euro area. The main part of the work consists of three sections. In the first section, the author studies the participation of the countries in monetary integration in the 1970s-1999: the approaches of Belgium and the Netherlands to this process, their participation in various currency mechanisms (European Currency Snake, the European Monetary System and others), the compliance of Belgium and the Netherlands with the Maastricht criteria before joining the euro zone. In the second section the author shows how participation in the EMU affected the state of the economies of the two countries, as well as their economic cooperation with European partners. The third section analyzes the impact of anti-crisis programs of supranational authorities (during the crisis of 2008-2009, the European debt crisis, and the current coronacrisis) on the economies of Belgium and the Netherlands.
In the conclusion the author posits that joining the euro area, in general, has brought positive consequences for the economies of Belgium and the Netherlands; the competent policy of the ECB contributed to a relatively successful recovery from economic crises by these countries. However, the principles of European solidarity can create certain difficulties for Belgium and the Netherlands.
Keywords
Belgium, the Netherlands, integration, the euro zone, the European Central Bank, the European debt crisis, the coronacrisis.
Author
Irina Kiseleva
Made on
Tilda

Бельгия и Нидерланды в процессе валютной интеграции в Европе: экономические последствия вступления в еврозону
Резюме
Бельгия и Нидерланды на протяжении многих десятилетий являлись локомотивами интеграционных процессов в Европе, отдавая приоритет экономическим аспектам европейского строительства.
Исследуемые страны сыграли важную роль в становлении Европейского Союза — единственного в мире интеграционного объединения, которому удалось достичь стадии Экономического и валютного союза (ЭВС). В рамках еврозоны наднациональными институтами проводится единая денежно-кредитная политика. В то же время об эффективности ЭВС ведется множество дискуссий с момента его основания — эксперты критикуют объединение за отсутствие гибкости монетарной политики. Особенно остро это проявляется в период кризисов, когда европейские экономики одна за другой переходят в фазу спада и вследствие унификации валютной политики не могут предпринять эффективных мер. Поэтому рассматриваемая автором тема особенно актуальна в период текущего коронакризиса.
В рамках статьи рассмотрена роль отдельных стран, Бельгии и Нидерландов, являющихся ядром европейского строительства, в сложных и многогранных процессах интеграции, затрагивающих интересы большинства государств континента и оказывающих влияние на функционирование стран-членов европейского сообщества. Этим определяется научная новизна представленной работы.
Цель данного исследования — изучение роли Бельгии и Нидерландов в процессе валютной интеграции, а также анализ экономических последствий вступления данных стран в зону евро. Основная часть работы состоит из трех разделов. В первом автор рассматривает участие исследуемых стран в валютной интеграции в 1970-х — 1999 гг.: подходы Бельгии и Нидерландов к данному процессу, их участие в различных валютных механизмах («Европейская валютная змея», Европейская валютная система и другие), соответствие стран Маастрихтским критериям перед вступлением в еврозону. Во втором разделе автор показывает, как участие в ЭВС повлияло на состояние экономик двух стран, а также на их экономическое сотрудничество с европейскими партнерами. В третьем разделе анализируется влияние антикризисных программ наднациональных институтов (в период кризиса 2008-2009 гг., кризиса зоны евро, текущего «коронакризиса») на экономики Бельгии и Нидерландов.
В результате исследования автор приходит к следующему выводу: вступление в зону евро, в целом, имело позитивные последствия для экономик Бельгии и Нидерландов, грамотная политика ЕЦБ способствовала относительно спокойному преодолению экономических кризисов этими странами. Однако принципы европейской солидарности способны создавать определенные сложности для исследуемых государств.
Ключевые слова
Бельгия, Нидерланды, интеграция, еврозона, Европейский Центральный банк, кризис зоны евро, коронакризис.
Автор
Ирина Киселева